12 comments on “Singer 401, 403, & 404 Service Manual

  1. Thank you for sharing the manual. It is much appreciated. My mother bought this machine just one year after it came out. She bought it second handed for $200. Many years later I use it quite frequently. We have been looking for a manual to give it the tune up it deserves. Once again, Thank You!

  2. Thank you so much. I have had this machine for years but have never tried the cams or the specialty stitches. They don’t appear to work even though the dials SEEM to be moving. I bought a second machine at a garage sale for spare parts so I guess I am going to have to try it and if it works then I will have to open them up. I am a little weary. Maybe I can talk my son into looking at it.

  3. Wow, it’s wonderful to find that you’re offering this manual. With this and all the YouTube videos out there, I’m feeling good about tuning up my new (old) machine. Thanks!

  4. Pingback: Online resources | Singer 422G

  5. Thanks for the manual. It chaps me to no end that people get the manuals on the Singer site and then charge for them on eBay. I set up a wix site that I use to direct folks to FREE copies of the ones I have found or scanned. Keep up the good work. Thanks for the idea of the red “Not for Resale”.

  6. This is great. I have a 401A from the year I was born. I invested the money to get it running properly and it is a wonderful machine. I am so greatful to have this manual provided to help me keep it running great. You have provided a real blessing. Thank you.

  7. Hello, I love my 401A but am not into servicing it myself. Not sure I am mechanically enclined that wasy. But I was wondering if you know the secret to inserting two needles to sew with? Thank you,
    Rebecca

  8. I have just been bitten by the sewing machine, which is shouldering through the chainsaws for attention. Since I sidelined my old Elna carina by stripping a gear, I have been reworking and using a thousand-pound Rikkkar portable, late sixties maybe, and a Jaguar Kenmore 1345. They are much cleaner that the saws, I must say.
    Now I found a Singer 401a in a table, complete, in good condition. I looked on ebay and found this very manual for sale, paper photo copy, $12 +$3 shipping.

    So Thank You. Spending a dollar on a free machine is like a dillion percent increase in cost.

    I am a donald too but I go by Don.

    Have fun. dude.

Leave a Reply

