2 comments on “Another way to clean a sewing machine

  1. My sister rescued a Singer 66 from a dumpster.
    I am not sure my method is correct; but I have never seen a froze-up rusty old singer before, that was not well cared for. So, I felt like I had nothing to lose by using what ever would loosen up the crusty old machine.
    It took 3 days of sitting outside in the heat (sunshine), after oiling & spraying all the mechanisms with PB Blaster, I finally got that froze up machine to move. I had to place a stick of wood against the lower mechanism & whack it with a hammer; whacking the mechanism back & forth, all the while adding more oil & PB Blaster to every metal part, to get it to move.
    Now it is freed up; I am wondering if I need to flush the PB Blaster out of the machine.

Leave a comment