26 comments on “Singer 500 Owner’s manual

  1. I’ve never seen a service manual. This is SUPERB !!! Thank you for posting. I am looking for the manual included with the machine which gave instructions on how to use it. Could you direct me to the right place?

    • Thank you for having this manual available. You have saved my sewing machines life, as I was going to throw it out my 6th story window. You also saved me from a bout of day drinking. I have alot of inventory to build and couldnt have done it without knowing that bobbin tension is a thing. You are my hero.

  2. Thank you so much for providing the Service Manual ~ I have my Rocketeer up and running with this manual and a bit of head scratching!

  3. Enormously grateful for the manual, trying to get a granddaughter started sewing and the tension on the 500A I found on Craigslist a few years back for $75,(in a cabinet, all attachments, owners manual and some notions) is intermittently breaking the upper thread.
    Greatly enjoyed your silliness, though having grown up in New Jersey, some of it was disheartening…you DO realize there are jerks everywhere, and one can only expect to be treated as you treat others. So many people think they have such a grip on being sensible, cognizant silliness is so much closer to truth, IMH(?)O.
    That’s my 2 cents worth, be well, be happy, take your meds. Hopefully I can get this wonderful machine back to good working order thanks to you, but I may have to call in my husband. We’ll see. For now, it’s time to go pretend I can be useful.

  4. Thank you Santa for the manual. I just picked up a Singer 500A today at Goodwill. It sounds like it will sew smoothly. I am so excited, can’t wait to start using it.. Didn’t get any accessories or cams with it though. If you happen to know where i can find a manual for an electro-grande deluxe automatic 400 sewing machine, could ya let me know please. I found one at a garage sale and can’t find cams or manual for that either. Who knew when I got into sewing that I was going to want to buy old machines I find? Thanks again.

    • Donna, you probably have done this by now but check inside the cover to the machine. See if the storage box is there. If so, the cams may be there.

  5. thank you SO much for the free manual. I cannot find mine and was looking for what size bobbin to use. I can’t find the bobbins, either. My aunt left me her machine in mint condition and I go and lose both these things….I am not worthy! But I really need the bobbin…. do you know which size will work from those that wal mart sells?

  6. Wow! Thank you. I just starting to learn how to sew and I came across this machine at a thrift store for $36. I am so happy that you posted the manual. Thank you again!!!

  7. my lovely neighbor died several years ago and her son just sold the house and asked me if I wanted her old singer… it is a 503A in beautiful condition but the manual with it was for a different machine… I am so glad to have found you! now I can sew on it!

  8. Thank you for the download. I just bought this machine for $50, and am stoked about using it. Thank you!

  9. Thank you so much for the link to the Singer 500 (Rocketeer) Sewing Manual. My neighbor has one she bought at a garage sale but never had the manual. She binds the quilts her church group makes for charity. She recently ran into some problems with setting the stitches so called me to help. With the manual we can both better understand the features of this wonderful machine.

  10. Than you so much. I have my grandmother’s 500A and have lost or misplaced the manual. This helps a lot.

  11. Thank you so very much for posting this manual! I found my 503A at a yard sale without extras, so delighted to get this. Don’t worry, I have a very good record with Santa.

  12. Thanks for manual, I don’t how to sew, but with covid kicking up dust, figure its about time. Might have to come back here again, lady down street no help can’t sew lol.

  13. Hi. I won’t re-sell your kind work. I am trying to un “freeze” a Singer 500 cabinet machine which was in a shed for 35 years. It was dry, but mice sat on the body and dribbled grass seed husks inside as they ate.
    Thanks for posting manuals. The 500a manual will be a great help.😊😊

  14. My husband is a sewing dude too and we both thank you for posting this manual! He’s refurbishing my mom’s old Rocketeer sewing machine.

  15. Thank you so much for providing this manually – I learned a lot about my trusty Singer 500A “Rocketeer”, which I’ve actually had for at least 20 years!

  16. Like everyone else above is saying, thank you so much for this manual. I just bought a 500 at a thrift store. I have a very fancy Viking husquavarna machine, however need to teach my granddaughters how to sew. This machine will be perfect. I just got it all cleaned out and ordered new oil and lubricant. Anxious to give it a try. Thanks again

  17. Wow, thanks! A non-sewing friend inherited her aunt’s 500A and asked for my help. My daughter has my aunt’s 503, so I was somewhat familiar with it’s operation, but I have a lot of questions. I can’t seem to disengage the needle when winding a bobbin – the stop motion wheel doesn’t budge. I don’t want to force it and break something. Love the old Singers, I have been sewing on my Mom’s old 201 for the last 50 years, it is my weapon of choice!

  18. Thank You so very much for the Singer 500 user and service manuals for downloading! My Mom’s old service manual was well used with a few lube pages missing. She has since passed, but this machine still ran strong into the 2010s. It’s a beautiful and well built machine mounted in a stylish factory cabinet that deserves to be maintained and a place of honor in a home.

Leave a comment